Line separator

SCIENCE:
TERRESTRIAL

The NARI Terrestrial Science Working Group focuses broadly on scientific and engineering research within the Arctic's terrestrial realm.

SCIENTIFIC 

GOALS.

Arctic landmasses and the diverse range of habitats, ecosystems, and populations they support are among the fastest warming environments on Earth. To foster impactful research into the causes, manifestations, and impact of Arctic change, the Terrestrial Science Working Group will focus on the following priority areas.

  • Establishing via observational and palaeo data the full capacity of the Arctic environment for change
  • Resolving the impact of permafrost thawing on Arctic hydrology
  • Understanding terrestrial carbon sinks and sources and their linkages with Arctic climate
  • Assessing ecological resilience of Arctic ecosystems in the face of modern and projected climate change
  • Projecting impacts of rising temperatures on land-based transport links and infrastructure
MORE TO COME.

WG MEMBERS.

 

Name
Organisation
Email
Dr. Gordon Bromley
National University of Ireland Galway
gordon.bromley@nuigalway.ie
Dr. Margaret Jackson
Trinity College Dublin
margaret.jackson@tcd.ie
Tim Keenan
University College Dublin
tikeenan@tcd.ie
Dr. Sam Kelley
University College Dublin
sam.kelley@ucd.ie
Amy Lally
Queen's University Belfast
alally01@qub.ac.uk
Dr. Sergei Lebedev
Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
sergei@cp.dias.ie
Dr. Conor Meade
Maynooth University
conor.meade@mu.ie